Space Allows For Vision

When I come to my quiet place, I park in such a way that I can see as much as possible from where I am. I park away from the other cars, I face on to the sea, and this gives me almost an 180 degree vista. In front of me lies the vastness of the ocean, visible up to 30, 40 miles ahead on a clear day.

I have looked at this view so many times now that when I close my eyes it is still there. On days when the clouds are low, the rain sweeps in or mist hugs the shoreline, I can still see in my minds eye what is before me.

The space around me and before me is so rare in today’s busy, built up world. I come here because this space blesses me. Because this space gives me vision.

“And he withdrew himself into the wilderness, and prayed” (Luke 5:16 KJV)

The word for wilderness signifies a place that is lonely, where others don’t come, a place of solitude. That’s the sort of place Jesus sought when He wanted time out just to be in His Father’s presence.

Just as this physical space here gives me the opportunity for a greater vision than normal – seeing 40 miles in front of me instead of just as far ahead to the car in front, or the next building blocking the sky – so it gives me the opportunity for greater spiritual vision. I “see” the things of God so much easier with His glorious creation in front of me, the distractions of the world minimised.

Whether I sit for an hour looking up ships, or watching the changing waves, whether I stay in the car or walk the seafront for the hour, whether I play worship music or sing to myself, whether I read the Word or just sit in the presence of The Word, whether I talk with God or just sit in companionable silence as I marvel at His Works, whether I come with supplication or thanksgiving, whether I hear His Voice or just feel Him there…. This hour blesses me.

Space allows for vision.

May you find space today, and every day.

“Here’s what I want you to do: Find a quiet, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage. The focus will shift from you to God, and you will begin to sense his grace.”  (Matthew 6:6 The Message)

Leave a Reply

