The Evidence of Things Unseen

Today I arrived at my spot and parked up so I had the usual vista before me.  However, today the sky is grey, the wind is gusting, the tide is out and the visibility is poor.

But this is still a beautiful place to be.

I sit and watch the pattern of the waves breaking on the rocks, see them emerge as the tide goes out, watch the gulls settling into rock pools, seeking out trapped crabs for breakfast.

The windows of the car may be shut so I can’t hear the sea as clearly as usual but instead I have a symphony of wind whistling and howling around the side of the car, and a gentle rocking in my seat as the car is buffeted.

There are plenty of ships anchored to investigate too.  The usual dog walkers, children being dragged to school (and therefore my morning prayer of thankfulness that my kids are homeschooled!).

I spot little breaks in the grey cloud, snatches of blue sky, the promise of what’s there behind the gloom.

God doesn’t have to spell it out for me this morning! I can see the encouragement before me.

God is present all the time. His beauty, His power, His grace, His truth. Regardless of the time or season, regardless of the “weather” in my life – whether I am being buffeted by circumstances around me, finding it difficult to see clearly, caught on unexposed “rocks” of sin, feeling cold and bereft…. He is there, in all things He can work them to my good if only I will let Him.

Through free will I have the authority over my life – through His grace I can submit that authority to Him. Giving Him permission to guide, to teach, to show. He can reveal the “food” that will nourish me in the “rock pools” in my life, those sinful blocks I stumble on, but through which process I can grow and deepen my understanding of Him and His grace if only I will listen.

He can protect me from the effects of the wind, be my refuge, my strong tower –  Jesus is my “covert” (Isaiah 32:2). I shall still hear the storms of life as they howl by but I shall stand firm, unmoved, safe and warm in the security of His promises to me (Psalm 91 has been such a refuge for me over the years).

Though all around me may seem grey I can trust in His Word, know that the “blue skies” of the glories of heaven are still there even if obscured by the clouds of this world. If I base my mood, my happiness, my security on the “weather” in my life then I will be no better than the unsaved around me who moan and complain about the weather all the time (too hot, too cold, too windy, too dry..). No, may I be one who trusts in the glory of God, His truth and His promises, and bears all things for “faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1 MEV).

I read this Psalm this morning and it became my glorious declaration – may it be yours too:

Psalm 46

1 God is our refuge and strength,
a well-proven help in trouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth be removed,
and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
3 though its waters roar and foam,
though the mountains shake with its swelling. Selah
4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
the holy dwelling place of the Most High.
5 God is in the midst of her; she will not be moved;
God will help her in the early dawn.
6 The nations roared; the kingdoms were moved;
He uttered His voice; the earth melted.
7 The Lord of Hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah
8 Come, see the works of the Lord,
who makes desolations in the earth.
9 He makes wars cease to the end of the earth;
He breaks the bow and cuts off the spear;
He burns the chariot in the fire.
10 Be still and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.
11 The Lord of Hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah

Leave a Reply

